Complications

So, I mentioned that MCAS is a blood disorder.  What I didn’t mention is that there are so many different disorders that run co-morbid with MCAS.  Today, I’m going to talk about one of them.

EDS, or Ehler-Danlos Syndrome, is a connective tissue disorder.  Basically, your connective tissue, skin, ligaments, tendons, etc are super stretchy and cause major issues.  You also have such an easy time of bruising.  Any small bump could cause a huge bruise.  There are days where I wake up with a huge, purple bruise and have no idea where it came from.  That’s the EDS.  It runs along with MCAS because when the mast cell releases it’s chemicals, one of them is heparin, which is an anti-clotting chemical–essentially that’s what causes the bruising.  It’s a pain, but it’s something that we have to live with.

For me, I’ve dislocated my shoulder twice now (in the past 9 months), sprained my ankle more times than I remember, sprained my wrist quite a few times, and even tore my ACL when I was 13.  And it’s frustrating, because any little injury could blow up and cause an even bigger injury.  I’m frequently on crutches for no apparent reason.  I have braces for 4 of my joints: thumb and wrist, knee, ankle, and a sling for my shoulder.  I’m in constant pain.  And there’s literally nothing that can be done for it.  I’ve tried all sorts of stuff–ice, heat, tylenol, hemp oil, narcotics…I’d try NSAIDS but they’re a known mast cell trigger, so I’m going to avoid them at all costs.

I hate feeling like I’m going to break at any moment.  I woke up today, and my shoulder felt like I had dislocated it somehow.  I looked at my shoulder, and it’s bruised black and blue, and it has the same weakness and pain that it had when I dislocated it in the past.  I grabbed my sling (I’m going out tomorrow and getting a more comfortable one because this one just hurts my neck) and am keeping it immobile, but let me tell you–the pain is so bad I’m laying in bed with tears.  I’m so frustrated with everything.  I’m trying my hardest to see the light at the end of the tunnel, but let me tell you–it’s really getting hard.

8ce8c6613d0fe6897a02aace927d2b1d

This quote really helps me get through the day.  With everything that I’ve been given, I must have a huge destiny coming.  Keep me in your prayers. ♥

All my love,
Kristina ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

